Tomo Kohsaka

Going through Tomo Kohsaka’s photos is making me daydream about spending my summer days in Japan. There’s a sense of calm with a touch of whimsiness to her photos. I can imagine she’d be a fun person to hang out with. And if you can read Japanese, I suggest you check out her blog as well.

Thanks to Tara O’Brady of seven spoons for letting me know about Tomo Kohsaka’s work.

Tomo Kohsaka


Q. Can you tell me what you’re trying to capture when you take your food photos?
A. I am trying to capture a scene that makes someone (and me) feel comfortable. I would like the viewer to feel they want to enter that scene.

Q. What do you like about photography?
A. I can express myself without words using photography.

Q. What inspires you?
A. I feel inspired by the things I yearn for. For example, the cool scene in a movie, an article in a magazine or something I desire at that time.

Q. Any food photography heroes? If not any photography heroes?
A. Yoshihiko Ueda and Diane Arbus

Q. Best meal so far in 2012?
A. In Tokyo, Japan we have very hot summers and cold winters. We have a short period before summer which is perfect BBQ weather.

My best meal so far in 2012 was a BBQ at my home with my family and friends. We enjoyed a lot of delicious food and laughs together.

All photos courtesy of Tomo Kohsaka.
Tomo Kohsaka

Tomo Kohsaka

Tomo Kohsaka

Tomo Kohsaka

Tomo Kohsaka

Tomo Kohsaka

One thought on “Tomo Kohsaka

  1. Wow, I love the softness of her photos! They definitely create an air of enticing, which is something I strive for. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment